Saturday, September 18, 2010

URGENT! E-mail Account Phishing Scam BEWARE!

I just received the below e-mail and it is a phishing scam to gain access to your e-mail accounts. Your accounts may hold e-mailed information regarding logins to different accounts that you do business with. DO NOT respond to this e-mail if you get it.

Notice how they cover ALL of the major e-mail accounts like Yahoo!, Hotmail, and Gmail. Notice how they sign it Microsoft AND Yahoo. Right! Please do not provide ANY information to these scumbags! Here is the e-mail to watch for:


Dear Account User,

This message is from the yahoo/Microsoft Inc to all our yahoo, hotmail and gmail account users. We are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of yahoo, hotmail and gmail accounts.

In view of the above and in order to give our account users better services, we are carrying out account validation in order to ascertain anonymous email accounts users as well as update current users.

If you are still interested and want to continue using your current email account, you are hereby requested to kindly fill your login information in the space below. Upon the successful filling of the information, your account will be upgraded and continue to function as normal.

* User name: ...............................
* Password: ................................
* Date of Birth: ...........................
* Country or Territory: ....................

Warning!!! If you fail to provide the required information within 72 hours of receipt of this message, we shall have no option than to delete your account permanently as one of the anonymous email accounts users.

We apologize for any inconveniences this might have caused you.

Sincerely,

Microsoft/ Yahoo Account Services
Copyright © 2010 Microsoft/Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved


Be safe out there!

Mary

Friday, September 10, 2010

ALERT: Chase Bank Phishing E-mail

Here is an example below of a "phishing" email I received under the Chase Bank name. If you happen to receive one of these, DO NOT click on any of the links (they are disabled in this post) and do not enter any of your account information!

Forward the email to abuse@chase.com.

NOTE: I have added an Update below.
============================================

Chase Bank : Your Online Banking Profile Has Been Changed
Tuesday, September 7, 2010 9:41 PM
From: "Chase Bank Alert"
Add sender to Contacts
To: undisclosed-recipients

Dear Customer,

Due to the high number of fraud attempts and phishing scams, it has been decided to implement EV SSL Certification on this Internet Banking website.

The use of EV SSL certification works with high security Web browsers to clearly identify whether the site belongs to the company or is another site imitating that company's site.

It has been introduced to protect our clients against phishing and other online fraudulent activities. Since most Internet related crimes rely on false identity, Chase Bank went through a rigorous validation process that meets the Extended Validation guidelines.

Please Update your account to the new EV SSL certification by Please enter your Chase Bank Online ID and then update form."/ font"

(Failure to verify account details correctly will lead to account suspension)

Thank you.
Account Customer Service


==========================================================

UPDATE: I received a comment from someone who works for Verisign's Extended Validation SSL program. Read his comment below. He basically states that the consumer has to do absolutely nothing to take advantage of EV SSL certification. All you need to do is to make sure that your browser is updated to the latest version.



The EV SSL technology turns the URL bar green (or you see a green padlock) when you are on an encrypted page. It is designed to prevent phishing attacks. So, if the site you are on has the EV SSL and the green URL bar disappears or padlock is not green, it may indicate a fake site or phishing site. Take it as a WARNING and investigate before providing any information to the site.

If any email tells you that you have to click on this or that to verify your information, it is very well a phishing site. Be careful out there!


I received two phishing emails in August that "appeared" to come from Bank of America in reference to a call I made and they had the date of the call! That really gave me the creeps, in addition to the fact that BofA does not have that particular email address of mine and there is no way BofA would have it. Of course, I forwarded those to abuse@bankofamerica.com.

To due dilligence on the net,

Mary